Match Report

Match Report - 19 Oct 2013, Ammanford AFC Firsts lost to Ton Pentre

Ammanford Town were dumped out of the League Cup, after a 4-3 extra time defeat against division one side Ton Pentre, thanks to a Jamie Wearn hat-trick at the Recreational Ground.

Chris Hyde opened the scoring for the hosts after a through ball from Ben Soal 15 minutes into the match, set him up for a one on one with the opposing keeper, who he beat.

But, 15 minutes later, Pentre equalised off a mistake from centre half Euros Griffiths, whose header allowed Wearn to slot under the goalkeeper for his first of the game.

The division two side soon re-established a lead though, when Rhys Owen rose above everyone else to head home free kick before half time; that was Soal’s second assist in the first half.

After the interval, the visitors came out seemingly determined to go through to the next round and equalised when a ground cross was tapped in by Wearn.

Winger Sam Wilson, who often caused a threat down the left, made a darting run and when he seemingly looked set to cross, curled the ball past the stranded keeper into the corner.

With only 20 minutes remaining the hosts looked set to cause an upset, but a debut goal by Raheem Outlaw sent the game into extra time with only 60 seconds left on the clock.

During extra time, Rhys Morgan shot straight at the opposition keeper when one on one, before the ‘Rhondda Bulldogs’ countered off the corner and scored as striker Wearn completed his hat-trick.

Despite Ammanford’s best efforts in the dying minutes, the Rhondda side enter the draw for the next round.

Notable achievements during the game were debuts for Alex Arnold and a debut starting berth for Callum Humphreys, both of Ysgol Dyffryn Aman.

Ammanford AFC Firsts 3 - 4 Ton Pentre (4-3 AET, 3-3 FT)

Name Goals Details
1 Jamie Rano  
2 Callum Humphreys   Full Debut
3 Rhys Fisher  
4 Euros Griffiths  
5 Rhys Owen   1
6 Ben Soal  
7 Geraint Rees  
8 Rhys Morgan  
9 Sam Wilson   1
10 Chris Hyde   1
11 Alex Thomas  
12 Oli Ardolino  
13 Alex Arnold   debut
14 Owen James