Match Report

Match Report - 16 Nov 2013, Ammanford AFC Firsts drew with Newport YMCA

Ammanford Town were yet again left ruing a late goal as they drew 2-2 at the YMCA Ground with Newport YMCA.

Ammanford came out like a house on fire and pacey winger Owen James took advantage of a poor back pass from the hosts as he slotted past the keeper with only four minutes on the clock. It only took another three minutes before he seemingly scored again, only to be ruled offside.

The visitors seemed to be in control, but Euros Griffiths headed the ball backwards only for it to loop over Jamie Rano’s head and into the Ammanford net.

Rano was on hand to deny the home side later on in the half as things became feisty between the two sides.

The away side then almost regained the lead and probably should have as forward Nathan Jones squandered a great opportunity when he had an open goal to aim it, only to hit the side netting from a tight angle two minutes into the second half.

Rano was again the saviour though when the pressure built as he saved twice, first to concede a corner and then saved a header from point blank range from the resulting corner.

With 20 minutes to go though Ammanford produced a great goal, winger James played a layoff to centre midfielder Alex Squires who hit a first time shot over the keeper’s head from 22 yards.

Newport almost equalised immediately after though when a free kick avoided everyone in the six yard box. Substitute Chris Hyde then had a shot saved when one on one with the opposing keeper.

But Newport scored a late equaliser when Alex Thomas was dispossessed of possession and the play resulted in an equaliser from inside the 18 yard box, which sparked scenes of jubilation with the home team and fans.

Newport YMCA 2 - 2 Ammanford AFC Firsts ()

Name Goals Details
1 Jamie Rano  
2 Geraint Rees  
3 Luke Squires  
4 Euros Griffiths  Euros  Griffiths Yellow card
5 Rhys Owen  
6 Alec Squires   1
7 Ben Soal  
8 James Murray  
9 Sam Wilson  
10 Nathan Jones  
11 Owen James   1
12 Chris Hyde  
13 Alex Thomas  
14 Rhys Morgan