Match Report

Match Report - 11 Feb 2006, Ammanford AFC Firsts lost to Garw

Garw 2 Ammanford 0 Macron Welsh League Division 2

WITH another depleted squad with at least six first team players unavailable for various reasons, Ammanford went down 2-0, but the scoreline was not a true reflection on the match with Ammanford equal to all that Garw threw at them.

The young players who came into the squad proved their worth. But goals are what count and Garw took their two chances.

Ammanford had the better of the opening 15 minutes where Nathan Jones and Rhodri Robinson were outstanding - as they were over the entire 90 minutes.

'Keeper Rob Thomas pulled off a superb save, but on 25 minutes Garw scored when Thomas appeared to be fouled in mid air and was forced to drop the ball. Garw's Lewis Williams then had the easy task of a tap-in.

Ammanford went straight on the attack and put together two attacking moves that resulted in Cerison Davies and Luke Fayres seeing shots saved.

At half-time Ammanford felt they could get something out of the match but disaster struck in the second half when a terrible defensive blunder allowed Tom Hooper in to score, despite the presence of three Ammanford defenders.

Ammanford never let up and deservedly won a penalty in the 75th minute when Devonald was upended in the box, but Cerison Davies hit his spot-kick wide of the mark.

Although Ammanford continued to put in 100% it ended in a 2-0 defeat.

However, overall they gave a tremendous display and with more performances like this, they will safely move up the table.

l Ammanford have a chance to improve their league position when they are home to Cardiff Corries on Saturday (ko 2pm).

The seconds, meanwhile, lost 6-2 to Porthcawl, being 3-1 down at half-time.

Pushing forward to pull back the deficit only caused problems at the back where some mistakes contributed to the 6-2 defeat. The seconds are without a game on Saturday.

Garw 2 - 0 Ammanford AFC Firsts ()

Name Goals Details
1 Robert GK Thomas  
2 A.N. Other  
3 A.N. Other  
4 A.N. Other  
5 A.N. Other  
6 Rhodri Robinson  
7 Cerison Davies  
8 Nathan Jones  
9 Steve Devanold  
10 Luke Fayres  
11 A.N. Other