Match Report

Match Report - 26 Jan 2008, Ammanford AFC Firsts lost to Bettws

FOR the fifth continuous match Ammanford lost again by the one goal after being reduced to nine men.

However new signing Neil O'Brian, the ex-League of Wales centre half, will bring a huge amount of experience.

Despite being down to nine men the young players performed outstandingly and nearly pinched a point.

Young reserve keeper Martin Williams pulled off two fine saves in the opening quarter. Although he put in another great save in the 30th minute, the ball broke loose to the visitors' Curtis Burg, who made no mistake.

Ammanford replied immediately when Nathan McNeil scored just two minutes later with a close-range effort.

Ammanford conceded their second goal just three minutes into the second half from a set-piece, to give Doug Wild a simple header in.

Disaster struck in the 70th minute when Liam Preece was sent off for a reckless challenge, then Scott Evans was red-carded for a tackle that perhaps should have been yellow at worst.

Betws made full use of the two-man advantage when they increased their lead with a fine taken goal by Richard Reddy, who put in a great lob over the keeper from 20 yards.

Ammanford could easily have handed in the towel but battled into the last quarter of the match looking the better team.

Dean Jenkins pulled a goal back with seven minutes to go, and they had a great chance with just a minute from time when a concerted Ammanford attack set up a chance for Lee Stone.

With just the keeper to beat from ten yards, the ball took a slight bobble up his shot went agonisingly over the crossbar.

Ammanford must put their house in order with Caerau Ely home next Saturday and Cardiff Corries home the Saturday after.

The reserves had no fixture but are away to Ystradgynlais on Saturday

Ammanford AFC Firsts 2 - 3 Bettws ()

Name Goals Details
1 Martin Williams  
2 Nathan McNeill   1
3 James Murray  
4 Rhodri Jones  
5 Scott Evans  Scott  Evans Red card
6 Liam Preece  Liam  Preece Red card
7 Cerith Williams  
8 Lee Stone  
9 Luke Fayres  
10 Dean Jenkins   1
11 Paul 'Ginge' Jones  
12 Shaun Fender  
13 Rhys Fisher  
14 Daniel Bowen